Sex Ed.

In my biology class today we were discussing cellular reproduction and the meiotic production of sperm and egg cells. Normally I don’t find chromosomes all that interesting… but under my current circumstances the conversation seemed extremely relevant! It was like “Wow, I did this! My chromosomes totally mixed liked that.”

I wont bore you with the details of meiosis, but here’s one interesting bit of info…

Each sperm and egg cell can be one of about 8 million possible chromosomal combinations, respectively.
That would put a zygote at one of 70 trillion+ possible arrangements of chromosomes taken from both parents.

70 trillion! That really narrows it down!

Now that I know that my child is one of the only 70 trillion possibilities, I really feel like I’m getting to know the kid.

3 Responses to Sex Ed.

  1. Jon says:

    Wow, very interesting actually. 70 Trillion. I don’t get it, but that’s ok….still a fun little fact.

    – Jon
    – Daddy Detective
    http://www.daddydetective.com

  2. Deanna says:

    That never occured to me while I was pregnant. The only things I really wanted to know were gender and eye color. I spent time with a stupid Mendel chart (is that what it’s called? The grid chart with the different genes/traits along two sides? Biology class was a long time ago…) trying to figure out the odds on eye color! In fact, I did that when I married my husband!

    Obviously, I had too much time on my hands.

  3. The Grandma says:

    hi

Leave a Reply

