Daily grind…

Matthew over at Child’s PlayX2 recently posted a schedule of his daily routine on his blog. While reading it over I couldn’t help but notice the difference between his life and mine! My life is about to drastically change! To give you an idea of what I’m talking about I decided to write out MY schedule… that way, everyone can compare my pre-kid life to his two-kid life. This post will be especially relevant to my child-free friends… be sure to compare the two before you even think about spending any “alone time” with your significant others!

6 a.m: At about 6 a.m. I roll over, look at the alarm clock, and then roll back over realizing that I still have a few more hours of sleep!

9 a.m: I finally roll out of bed, jump in the shower, and then head promptly to the couch to lay down for a little longer while I watch the news. Sometimes I eat breakfast.

10 a.m: I go to school at 10. I’m never in a rush to get there. The commute to school is usually filled with listening to loud music and playing air drums on the steering wheel.

11:30 a.m: My fist class lets out, then I head to the library to study/sleep/surf the net. If I’m feeling adventurous I’ll leave campus and go to a book store to read skateboard magazines.

12:30 p.m: Lunch time! I meet up with my other friends that still attend college everyday for lunch. We call this time “fun lunches.” Now that most of us are married, this is our “hang out” time. It works out well… we get to be loud, talk about man stuff, and eat crappy food all in one shot. “Fun lunch” usually lasts an hour or two or three. You never know until you get there.

2:15 p.m: Last minute studying before class (When needs be, I leave lunch early to study… you know, an extra 5 min. every once in awhile).

2:30 – 5:15 p.m: Back to class. A couple classes actually.

5:15 p.m: Leave school and head home. Julie usually gets home an hour or so before me and makes dinner. It’s always delicious!

6 p.m:This is when I hang out with my wife. On any given day we can be found doing a variety of fun things… grocery shopping, playing games, going over finances, watching tv/movies, baking delicious cakes, etc. This time usually lasts a couple hours until we both go into separate rooms to watch our favorite t.v. shows.

8 p.m: Daily Show

9 – 10 p.m: This is time that I have scheduled everyday to do absolutely nothing… that’s right nothing at all. If anything gets done during this time, then I’m doing something wrong. This time is for vegetation.

10:30 p.m:Julie goes to bed. I always go in and lay down with her for 15-20 minutes and we talk about our plans for the next couple days and that sort of thing. It’s just nice together time. She like the company as she falls asleep and I like to spend time with her. She is awesome.

10:45 p.m. – whenever: This is when I do the most studying. It’s quiet and I can actually concentrate. It usually lasts a couple hours or so and then I go join Julie in bed. It doesn’t take me too long to go to sleep. I’m always really tired by this time… doing nothing can get exhausting!

4 Responses to Daily grind…

  1. Matthew says:

    he-he-he. I can’t wait to hear the “after” schedule. =)

  2. Ashley says:

    Oh Jon, How sweet and naive you are. So cute, so young, so free. :::cough cough::: NOT FOR LONG SUCKA!

  3. Deanna says:

    Kiss the TV good-bye, man… you won’t have time for it for a while! But you won’t miss it much. Honest.

  4. line says:

    Perfect pages… tnx

Leave a Reply

