Insanity sets in…

Wow. What happened? It seems like just a couple days ago we learned that we were going to have a baby. Now we're only two months away from the due date and I don't feel any more prepared than I did in the first couple months. I'm starting to freak out. Seriously.

I guess I was expecting my life to slow down and let me get ready. That's not happening. If anything, things are getting more complicated. 

We've got a whole list of things that we wanted to do before the baby gets here. Of course, we haven't even done half of them and we're running out of time! Who decided that pregnancies would last only nine months? I need at least a few more years! 

So, just like a college student in the week before finals, I'm going to start cramming like a mad man! I know that I can't be 100% ready for the baby… but if I don't feel more prepared than I do now I'm going to go insane. Really. 

These last two months will be absolutely crazy… if you don't hear from me for a little while, you might want to check the mental hospital! 
I'll try to stay sane on you.

3 Responses to Insanity sets in…

  1. Lori says:

    Dude….if you need help, I’m home for the summer, remember? Whatever project or what not you need, just call!

  2. Ashley says:

    Here is what I suggest. Don’t do anything….just enjoy your time with your beautiful pregnant wife. The only way life is going to slow down before you have the baby is by SLOWING DOWN yourself.

  3. Deanna says:

    At some point, you just have to look at your “to-do” list and decide what’s really NECESSARY for you to do before the baby’s arrival, and what you would LIKE to do before the baby’s arrival. There was a ton of stuff that I wanted to get done before each of my kids arrived, and when my second one showed up, I felt even less prepared than I had for my first. I’d wanted to get a bedroom cleaned up and painted for my daughter to move into, and it didn’t happen. It happened eventually, and everyone got into the rooms meant for them, but it took a little time and some help from family. If you can get help, TAKE IT. But it is definitely time to prioritize, and you have to take some time alone with your wife now, too. You’ll never get this time back again… once you have kids, you have them forever.

Leave a Reply

