Cherish the love…

Last week we had the opportunity to attend the funeral of the mother of one of Julie's students. She passed away shortly after being involved in a tragic car accident. It was heartbreaking to watch her two young children and husband say goodbye to their dearly loved mother and wife. Even more heartbreaking was the thought that they had to go home afterward and pick up the pieces of their shattered reality and adjust to their new life without her. I'm sure the pain is tremendous. 

The reason I'm writing about this here is because since the accident, the father's courage and strength has been nothing short of amazing. It is admirable. He immediately took on the responsibilities of a single parent. He didn't miss a beat. The children didn't miss one day of school. On top of that, despite everything he was going through, he was coming in after school and getting involved in the areas that were previously handled by his wife. I'm amazed that he could find the strength to face the day, let alone become a super-dad. It is truly moving.

Basically, this post is a tribute to single parents everywhere. No matter who they are or what their situation is, they have my admiration. I would hope that I possess even a fraction of the strength and dedication that is displayed by single parents on a day to day basis.

I am also deeply grateful to my wife for the role she plays in my life. She is my motivation and inspiration. I don't know where I would be without her. My son will be lucky to have such an amazing mom.

I'll end this post with a quote from Kool and the Gang… (this is the first time in my life that I've ever quoted Kool!)
"Cherish the love we had, we should chersih the life we live..

cherish the love, cherish the life, cherish the love..

cherish the love we had, for as long as we both shall live..

cherish the love, cherish the life, cherish the love.."
 

2 Responses to Cherish the love…

  1. Deanna says:

    What a sad, yet inspirational, story. Julie’s students are lucky to have a teacher like her, when she will make the effort to support them in a time of crisis. And obviously, you know you’ve got someone pretty special, too. 🙂

  2. Matthew says:

    My mother raised my brother and me after my father died when I was 6. I always knew she was a hero but it didn’t really strike home until I had my own children. I cannot imagine how she did it.

Leave a Reply

